Delaware NEMO Guide to Natural Resource-Based Planning



A product of the Delaware NEMO Program

Prepared by Delaware Sea Grant College Program Newark and Lewes, DE 2005



This project was funded, in part, through a grant from the Delaware Coastal Programs with funding from the NOAA Office of Ocean and Coastal Resource Management, under Grant No. NA03NOS4190078, and by NOAA Office of Sea Grant, Department of Commerce under Grant No. NA050AR4171041, and the Delaware Sea Grant College Program. Publication No. DEL-SG-10-05.

This manual was produced with the support of a grant from the Delaware Coastal Programs to the University of Delaware Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service. The Delaware NEMO Steering Committee, comprised of local government, state agency, nonprofit organization, and university partners, was formed to guide the development and production of this manual. The Steering Committee members include the following individuals and organizations.

Delaware NEMO Steering Committee

Delaware State Agencies

Delaware Department of Transportation (DeIDOT) Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC)

Ann Marie Townshend – Office of State Planning Coordination Michael B. Mahaffie – Office of State Planning Coordination Marianne Walch – DelDOT, Stormwater Quality Program Randall V. Cole – DelDOT, Stormwater Quality Program Kathy E. Bunting Howarth – DNREC, Watershed Assessment Lyle A. Jones – DNREC, Watershed Assessment Beth L. Krumrine – DNREC, Sediment and Stormwater Program Paul W. Evans – DNREC, Sediment and Stormwater Program Susan E. Love – DNREC, Delaware Coastal Programs Kimberly B. Cole – DNREC, Delaware Coastal Programs Michael K. Brown – DNREC, Nonpoint Source Pollution Program Robert R. Palmer – DNREC, Div. Water Resources, Management Section Kevin Coyle – DNREC, Office of the Secretary

Local Government

Kathy Roth – Town of Ocean View Richard Kautz – Sussex County Planning and Zoning Commission George O. Haggerty – New Castle County, Department of Land Use

Nonprofit Organizations

Edward A. Lewandowski – Center for Inland Bays Sara L. Wozniak – Appoquinimink River Association

University of Delaware

Nicole M. Minni – Institute for Public Administration, Water Resources Agency Martha B. Corrozi – Institute for Public Administration, Water Resources Agency Gerald J. Kauffman – Institute for Public Administration, Water Resources Agency Martin W. Wollaston – Institute for Public Administration, Water Resources Agency William A. McGowan – Delaware Cooperative Extension Jennifer Gilbert – College of Agriculture and Natural Resources Joseph G. Farrell – Sea Grant Marine Advisory Service









